

ARCHIVED - Archiving Content

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVÉE - Contenu archivé

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

This document is archival in nature and is intended for those who wish to consult archival documents made available from the collection of Public Safety Canada.

Some of these documents are available in only one official language. Translation, to be provided by Public Safety Canada, is available upon request. Le présent document a une valeur archivistique et fait partie des documents d'archives rendus disponibles par Sécurité publique Canada à ceux qui souhaitent consulter ces documents issus de sa collection.

Certains de ces documents ne sont disponibles que dans une langue officielle. Sécurité publique Canada fournira une traduction sur demande.



CACP Policing with First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples Committee Annual Report to the President 2012-2013

Committee Mandate / Objectives:

The CACP, through the Policing with First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples Committee (formerly Policing with Aboriginal Peoples Committee), is committed to ensuring that the needs and circumstances of First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples are recognized and addressed in keeping with the mission of safety and security for all Canadians through innovative police leadership.

The Policing with First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples Committee has a mandate to advise the CACP on matters relating to sustainable policing services and enhanced public safety for indigenous peoples and their communities throughout Canada.

Executive Summary:

At its meeting in June 2013, the Committee's structure and strategic focus were renewed with the election of Committee Co-Chairs: Chief Doug Palson (Dakota Ojibway Police Service) and Superintendent Susanne Decock (Commander, Aboriginal Policing Bureau, Ontario Provincial Police); and the adoption of a motion from the membership to change the Committee name to Policing with First Nations, Métis and Inuit Peoples Committee.

Further to the renewal discussion, it was determined that consideration should be given to approaching police services serving the Northwest Territories, Toronto and Ottawa for representation to the Committee as either members or technical advisors.

The Committee acknowledges the contributions of previous co-chairs Stan Grier, former Chief of Police, TsuuT'ina Nation Police Service, and Chief Superintendent Brenda Butterworth-Carr, Director General, Aboriginal Policing, RCMP and Inspector Mike LeSage, National Aboriginal Policing Services, RCMP.

Strategic Priorities for 2013-2014:

- 1. Sustainability for policing with First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples. Action Plan:
 - Report on Resolution #04-2008 First Nations Policing
 - Review and revise previous resolution.
- 2. Crime prevention, reduction, detection and investigation of all matters that specifically affect First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities.

Action Plan:

- Seek expertise and support of RCMP Insp. Carol Bird to continue work on missing and murdered Aboriginal women and girls.
- Build and sustain respectful partnerships, addressing social welfare issues to enhance First Nations, Métis and Inuit policing. Action Plan:
 - Create a directory to share successful education models from across Canada.
 - Gather and disseminate information on the diverse approaches of service providers to policing First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities.

Committee Highlights 2012 - 2013:

The Committee contributed to the planning and delivery of the Aboriginal-focused sessions at the 2012 CACP Conference "One Nation, Many Peoples: The Full Circle of Policing in Canada."

The Committee Co-Chairs prepared an updated resolution concerning the sustainability of First Nations and Inuit policing for presentation at the 2013 Annual General Meeting.

• Policing for First Nations and Inuit Communities – Resolution #05 - 2013

The Committee identified the need for the CACP to profile and speak on First Nations, Métis and Inuit policing issues and to build stronger relationships with federal and provincial governments to enhance First Nations and Inuit policing services.

The Committee continued its work in relation to a model policy for protests and occupations. Precipitated by Idle No More actions in 2012 - 2013, the Committee reviewed the range of associated activities, issues and challenges and agreed to follow up on discussion among police leaders across Canada in relation to operational processes and policies.

The Committee held three meetings in 2012 – 2013:

- o August 2012 Cape Breton, Nova Scotia
- o October 2012 Halifax, Nova Scotia
- o June 2013 Ottawa, Ontario

Committee Members:

Chief Doug Palson, Co-Chair	Dakota Ojibway Police Service
Supt. Susanne Decock, Co-Chair	Ontario Provincial Police
Tyler Bates, Director	RCMP National Aboriginal Policing Service
Supt. Darrell Beaton	RCMP Northeast Nova Scotia District
Supt. Jeff Bent	Saskatoon Police Service
Chief Lee Boyd	Blood Tribe Police Service

Captain Patrice Cardinal	Sûreté du Québec
S/Sgt. Bob Chrismas	Winnipeg Police Service
Chief Leanne Fitch	Fredericton Police Service
Insp. Mario Giardini	Vancouver Police Department
	Calgary Police Service
Chief JP Levesque	Thunder Bay Police Service
	Public Safety Canada Aboriginal Policing Directorate
Chief Ivan McClelland	Canadian Pacific Police Service
Chief William Moffat	Naskapi Police Department
D/Chief Bob Morin	Regina Police Service
Richard Peach, Exec. Director	Saskatchewan Police Commission
Chief Jerry Swamp	Akwesasne Mohawk Police
Chief (Rtd) Dave Whitlow	Anishinabek Police Service
Supt. Curtis Zablocki	RCMP Battle River

The Committee acknowledges those members who have left the Committee in the past year and wishes to thank them and other contributors for their valuable insight and commitment to the work of this CACP Committee.